Spriha 2011

The annual intra college summer project competition SPRIHA 2011 was conducted successfully for the 14th consecutive year at the K. J. Somaiya Institute of Management Studies and Research, SIMSR on the 27th of August, 2011. SPRIHA is essentially a knowledge sharing platform where the 2nd year management students of SIMSR share their summer internship experiences and compete with one another through several gruelling elimination rounds with a wide range of sectors being represented like media, retail, banking, insurance, telecommunications, consulting, agrochemicals, FMCG, logistics etc. This year 25 students from across the marketing, finance, operations and human relations specializations had made the cut from amongst 420 students who had undergone summer internships this year.
The SPRIHA 2011 Semi-finals started off from 9 am and were conducted in 5 tracks with an eclectic mix of specializations and judges. There were 2 judges in each track and the we had invited some of the best minds in the industry to judge the event. The judges for Spriha 2011 Semi-finals were Mr. Rajesh Belani from HDFC Bank, Mr. Jagdeep Sharma from Results Consulting, Mr. Tapan Shah from Godray Philips, Mr. Shyam Arora from Axis Bank, Mr. Bhavik Chauhan from HUL, Mr. Vivek Rastogi from Future Group, Mr. Sugam Chaubal a retail consultant, Mr. Anish Wadia from DSK Legal, Mr. Ranjit Shetty from Chanakya Institute of Public Leadership (CIPL), Kedar Borwankar from Tata Teleservices. After a gruelling round of presentations by all the 25 semi-finalists, 8 students were able to make the cut to the Final Round. They were:

Niharika Singh (PG Finance)
Pujal Doshi (PG Finance)
Kutubuddin Lacewala (PG IB Marketing)
Mahima Sharma (MMS Marketing)
Ankit Pradip Shah (PG IB Finance)
Abhishek Dwivedi (PG Marketing)
Pritish Mukherji (PG IB Finance)
Ankit Verma (PG Marketing)

The SPRIHA Finals proved to be the battle of the best minds as the participants put forward their work before an elite panel of judges from the corporate world. The judging panel for the SPRIHA 2011 finals comprised of Mr. Prakash Rao from ABB Electricals(he is a SIMSR alumnus from the 2000 batch), Mr. Kumar Iyar from Darashaw and Subham Majumder from Nomura Holdings. The judges had a tough time evaluating the participants, and finally after a lot of deliberation the following winners emerged.

1st prize: Abhishek Dwivedi (PGDM Marketing)
2nd prize: Ankit Pradip Shah (PG IB – Finance)
3rd prize: Ankit Verma (PGDM Marketing)

The winners were awarded gift coupons from Shoppers Stop worth Rs 3000 (1st), Rs 2000 (2nd) and Rs 1000 (3rd) and the winner was awarded the SPRIHA 2011 trophy. All the finalists received certificates.
In all, SPRIHA 2011 was a resounding success and the students are hopeful that it would provide a great impetus to the esteem of SIMSR as an institute and play a huge role in promoting SIMSR and the calibre and quality of its students to the corporate world.

SPRIHA 2011 Facebook page

SPRIHA 2011 Photos


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s